current
archives
cast
rings
profile
email
notes
book




----------------------------------------------------------------------

My Musical Conveyance Accessory is Unstoppable!

Halloween Playlist #2

X-Files Theme/Mark Snow-Songs In the Key of X
Tell-Tale Heart Dialogue/Basil Rathbone
Main Title, Halloween/John Carpenter
Secret Ingredient is Blood (Bart)/The Simpsons
It's Bad You Know/R.L. Burnside
Delia's Gone/Johnny Cash
Baby Did A Bad Thing/Chris Isaak
Out Comes the Evil/Lords of Acid
Blood, Sex and Booze/Green Day
Psychopath (Leftfield Mix)/John Lydon
Pumpkin & Hunny Bunny/Dick Dale & His Del-Tones-Pulp Fiction
The Munsters Theme/AM Gold
Schmoopie Dialogue (Jerry)/Seinfeld
Eep Opp Ork Ah-Ah (Means I Love You)/Violent Femmes
A Smooth Pimp and A Man-Servant Dialogue/Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back
Jungle Love/Morris Day and the Time
Count Funkula/George Clinton
Watermelon Man/Mungo Santamaria
Help Catch Him Dialogue (Hannibal)/The Silence of the Lambs
I Put a Spell on You/Nick Cave
Dr. Evil/They Might Be Giants
Insane Dialogue (Homer)/The Simpsons
Insane In the Brain/Cypress Hill
She's Crafty/Beastie Boys
Weapon of Choice/Fatboy Slim
Break My Body/The Pixies


You are panting with unrequited desire. Stop it. It demeans us both.

1:31 pm - 10.05.2005

----------------------------------------------------------------------

For Those About to Rock...

I salute you.

Over the next few days I will be listing what is currently playing on my generic super-sized electronic music-delivering pleasure device. The Squeeze and I put together a few hours' worth of music for a Halloween party a few years back, and since it's that time of year, I thought I'd share.

Halloween Playlist #1

Do you know how much a body's worth? (Scully) Dialogue/X-Files
Country Death Song/Violent Femmes
I Think You Flooded It Dialogue/Out of Sight
A Girl Like You/Edwyn Collins
Something Wicked This Way Comes/Barry Adamson-Lost Highway
I Want to Live Dialogue/Terminator 2
Don't Fear the Reaper/Apollo Four Forty
After the Flesh/My Life with the Thrill Kill Cult-The Crow
Fava Beans Dialogue/The Silence of the Lambs
Dead Souls/Nine Inch Nails-The Crow
The Altar/Jerry Goldsmith-The Omen
Elegia/New Order
Kill All Humans (Bender) Dialogue/Futurama
She Sells Sanctuary/The Cult
My Wife and My Dead Wife/Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians
Hot Lesbian Witches Dialogue/Being John Malkovich
The Passenger/Iggy Pop
Real Child of Hell/X
Dead & Alive/The Dead Boys
Pet Sematary/The Ramones
Psycho Killer/Talking Heads
City of the Dead/The Clash
I am the Fly/Wire
Dead Man's Party/Oingo Boingo
It's Alive (Mr. Burns) Dialogue/The Simpsons
Twin Peaks Theme/Angelo Badalamenti-Twin Peaks



Can you believe there are four more?

8:39 am - 10.05.2005

----------------------------------------------------------------------

(I Ain't Gonna Play) Sin City

Why its name should be changed to Tivil

I know that there are many of you out there. You have the best intentions. You don't want to be left out of the crowd. You understand that there are more important things in the world, and yet, you tell yourself, "I deserve this. I shouldn't have to say no." But now things have gotten away from you. You don't have time to eat or sleep, you never go to the movies, you don't return people's calls. You forgot what it's like to have a hobby or to breathe fresh air. You find that you're a slave to something you used to call fun.

I'm talking about Tivo.

It was bad enough when all you had to handle was the occasional Netflix arrival. Sure, sometimes you had to cram in a weekend movie-thon just to catch up, but you could handle it. Your queue was manageable. But with Tivo, there were so many more choices. Recommendations alone made you giddy, and then you started looking through the menu everyday, finding out what you were missing, adding things to the list you thought you'd never have time to see.

Then you started getting the occasional Season Pass. This, too, started growing. I mean really, who is going to be able to stay up late enough to watch Adult Swim when real adults have jobs, and obligations? Your life became so busy that you started Season Pass-ing everything, just so you could keep up. You found yourself grateful for the commercial skips so you could cram two shows into an hour and fifteen minutes. Who needs credits?

Then you hit the inevitable wall. I call it the Netflix Flat. You ordered (saved, passed, bought) the damn thing and you are determined to watch it! This requirement grows in proportion to how much you have had to pay for the movie/show/game. Your obligation to see it becomes even more troublesome if the person who put said form of entertainment on your thrill-a-minute diversion box was not actually you. Now you can't even berate yourself and sheepishly delete the bastard while no one is looking. You have engaged in a veritable contract with another person, a contract built on trust and a sense of mutual obligation, whereupon you both agree to watch AND enjoy the movie AT THE SAME TIME.

Now you're in trouble. Because as everyone knows, there is a time and a place for a marathon round of "House" episodes, depressing art films about people in unspeakable circumstances, canonical film-ahge and wacky cartoons. Everyone knows when we watch the "Extras", the "Curbs", the "Gilmores" of this world. But when do you watch Matrix #3, just because you watched the first one with joy, the second with mounting horror, and the third out of a sheer desire for closure?

For me, about 13 months after I received it from Netflix. At work. On my computer, because, by god, it was NOT going to rule my life any longer.

And for Mister, My Man, My Main-Man Mister's* choices? Last weekend, despite my desire for a cozy round of catching-up-on-every-new-show-I-haven't-seen-since-the-season-started, I gave up the protest and played Sin City. And it wasn't bad.

Now I just have to get the Main-Man to watch that last Matrix so I can get a new one.

*Points! For everyone else, click here.

1:52 pm - 10.04.2005


0 people felt moved to speak
||

hosted by DiaryLand.com